Auf der 69. World Science Fiction Convention in Reno, Nevada wurden die diesjährigen Gewinner der angesehenen Hugo Awards und der John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer bekanntgegeben. Als einer der gewichtigsten Preise der phantastischen Literatur werden mit dem Hugo Award Veröffentlichungen aus dem Vorjahr geehrt. Benannt nach dem Verleger und Science Fiction Autor Hugo Gernsback liegt der Schwerpunkt der Hugo Awards auf der Science Fiction Literatur, jedoch kommen auch Fantasy Werke nicht zu kurz. Dan Simmons, Neil Gaiman, China Miéville und Joanne K. Rowling haben u.a. bereits die Ehre einen Hugo Award ihr Eigen nennen zu können.
Hier die aktuellen Preisträger der Hugo Awards 2011 und des Campell Award:

Best Novel:
Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)
Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)
Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit)
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella:
The Lifecycle of Software Objects, Ted Chiang (Subterranean)
“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)
“The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon”, Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)
“The Sultan of the Clouds”, Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)

Best Novelette:
“The Emperor of Mars”, Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)
“Eight Miles”, Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)
“The Jaguar House, in Shadow”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)
“Plus or Minus”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)
“That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made”, Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)

Best Short Story:
“For Want of a Nail”, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Amaryllis”, Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)
“Ponies”, Kij Johnson (, November 17, 2010)
“The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)
Note: there were only four nominees in this category per the provisions of the WSFS Constitution that require that nominees receive a specified minimum percentage of nominations.

Best Related Work:
Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)
Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)
The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing, Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)
Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve, William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)
Writing Excuses, Season 4, Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells

Best Graphic Story:
Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
Fables: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
Grandville Mon Amour, Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)
Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)
The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form:
Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)
How to Train Your Dragon, screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)
Toy Story 3, screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form:
Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: “A Christmas Carol,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
Doctor Who: “Vincent and the Doctor,” written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)
Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury, written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti
The Lost Thing, written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Best Editor, Short Form:
Sheila Williams
John Joseph Adams
Stanley Schmidt
Jonathan Strahan
Gordon Van Gelder

Best Editor, Long Form:
Lou Anders
Ginjer Buchanan
Moshe Feder
Liz Gorinsky
Nick Mamatas
Beth Meacham
Juliet Ulman
Note: Seven nominees appear in this category due to a tie for the final position.

Best Professional Artist:
Shaun Tan
Daniel Dos Santos
Bob Eggleton
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio

Best Semiprozine:
Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker
Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong
Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine:
The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III
File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer:
Claire Brialey
James Bacon
Christopher J Garcia
James Nicoll
Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist:
Brad W. Foster
Randall Munroe
Maurine Starkey
Steve Stiles
Taral Wayne

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer:
Lev Grossman
Saladin Ahmed
Lauren Beukes
Larry Correia
Dan Wells

Mehr zu den Awards: The Hugo Awards